Lindsay Starr is a designer and publisher currently based in San Antonio, Texas. For fifteen years, she's maintained a professional career in publishing and as a contract, turnkey book packager. Her design practice provides a range of publishing services that help artists, authors, publishers, and public institutions to produce high quality printed and digital publications.

She is also the Co-founder and Creative Director of Cattywampus Press, a project-based, independent publisher concerned with the development, production, and dissemination of short-run, limited edition books and goods by and about artists.


Communication Design
Texas State University
San Marcos, Texas

Communication Design
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, Texas

Thesis and CV available upon request

professional work

Senior Book Designer
University of Texas Press
2008 – 2018

Book Designer
Texas Tech University Press
2004 – 2008

private practices

Cattywampus Press
2017 – Present

Lindsay Starr Communication + Book Design
2006 – Present

university work

Assistant Professor
School of Art + Design
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX
Fall 2018 + Spring 2019

Dept. of Art + Art History
University of Texas, Austin
Fall 2018

Dept. of Visual Studies
St. Edward's University
Austin, TX
Spring + Fall 2017


American Advertising Federation
ADDY Awards

Association of American University Presses (AAUP)
Book, Jacket, and Journal Show

Book Industry Guild of New York
New York Book Show

Nebraska Center for the Book
Nebraska Book Awards

Poster for Tomorrow: Universal Right to Health Care
Top 100 posters exhibition and inclusion in print catalog

Print Magazine
Regional Design Annual, Southwest

The Professional Association for Design (AIGA)
50 Books / 50 Covers

Penguin Random House UK Design Award
Children’s Cover Award Shortlist

Publishers Association of the West (PubWest)
Book Design Awards

The Texas Institute of Letters
Fred Whitehead Award for Design of a Trade Book

College of Fine Arts and Communication, Texas State University
Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year, 2015–2016